online users
thotties       tv/movies       gaming       gear       tech       guap       rides       eats       health       bxwf       misc

My Salary Journey > 40k to 400k in 10 years

icon

more
topics gone triple plat - Number 1 spot 3X PLAT

section  1   0 bx goons and 1 bystanders Share this on Twitter       Share this on Facebook

topics gone triple plat - Number 1 spot 3X PLAT section guap

2 years ago '20        #1
21065 page views
367 comments

brother  topics gone triple plat - Number 1 spot x5
Props total: 7048 7 K  Slaps total: 1264 1 K
icon My Salary Journey > 40k to 400k in 10 years

Just wanted to share my journey over the last 10 years in hopes of inspiring or motivating any BX brothers who think it can't be done.

Background: I graduated from College with a Bullsh1t degree (think English or Communications). After college I struggled to find a decent job for years. Became a full blown alcoholic in the process.

2012 - Digital Marketing Position. 40k. Was a bullsh1t position overall, and I ended up getting fired in 6 months. But I was exposed to a tool that would change my life forever.

2012-2014 - Took a two year break where I was down real bad. Alcoholism crept in. Lost a ton of friends. Worst shape of my life. Looked like sh1t, probably smelled like sh1t too
emoji

2014 - Swallowed my pride and accepted an internship that paid $10/hr. Huge step backwards, but I bet on myself.

2014 - I got promoted from an Intern to an entry-level position. Salary back to $40k.

2017 - Told the company I was leaving. They countered and I got a raise to $75k.

2018 - Ended up leaving anyways, got a new position. $80k.

2019 - Got a position at a big consulting agency. Finally broke 6 figures. $120k

2019 - Hated the consulting gig with a passion. Ended up quitting. Got a new gig for $150k

2021 - Ended up getting promoted to $175k

2021 - I took on a second FT job that pays $190k. Combined income $360,000