Rob Bremmer, Pilot and Instructor - Dying in a plane crash does not hurt.

ADVERTISEMENT

most viewed right now
26 comments @sports

section  x1   |  0 bx goons and 1 bystanders Share this on Twitter       Share this on Facebook

section sports

1 month ago '16        #1
6904 page views
103 comments

freebiggavel  topics gone triple plat - Number 1 spot x4
space
space
space
Props total: 2414 2 K  Slaps total: 1497 1 K
Rob Bremmer, Pilot and Instructor - Dying in a plane crash does not hurt.

This I can answer from personal and professional experience. In August 1984 I was a flight Instructor, flying a passenger to Monterey California. We were making an instrument approach in the clouds. The instruments failed in a way I thought I was on course correctly. Long story short we flew a Grumman Tiger at approach speed (90) past the airport (timing issue) into a hill on an approach path angle, in the fog. This is usually not survivable.

When I saw scrub-brush appear in the clouds, at 90 mph, my thought was “this is it.” As we hit, our bodies were flung forward. My face hit the instrument panel hard. There was no pain as my nose broke, as my glasses were mushed into my face, as my arm broke and as I suffered quick deceleration and extreme bruising. Same for the passenger. I blacked out, last view being instrument panel. Sense of complete accepatance, and no pain. Came to some time later. Body back, head back, top of plane gone. We were upright. No pain. My face felt wet. I touched it with my right hand, and figured it was blood. My passenger was screaming get out get out.