Jun 10 - I was an FBI agent. Trump’s lack of concern about Russian hacking shocks me.

section   (0 bx goons and 1 bystanders) Share this on Twitter       Share this on Facebook

2 years ago '10        #1
372 page views
15 comments

Hovi Bryant 682 heat pts682
space
space
$31,577 | Props total: 22649 22649
Jun 10 - I was an FBI agent. Trump’s lack of concern about Russian hacking shocks me.

But as a former FBI counterintelligence agent, what I saw as the most explosive aspect of the testimony didn’t involve any legal violation of the U.S. code or questions about whether Comey had broken established Department of Justice protocols.

Instead, it was the prima facie evidence that Comey presented that Trump appears unwilling to uphold his oath “to preserve, protect, and defend” the country — which puts the security of our nation and its democracy at stake.

In the nine times Trump met with or called Comey, it was always to discuss how the investigation into Russia’s election interference was affecting him personally, rather than the security of the country.

He apparently cared little about understanding either the magnitude of the Russian intelligence threat, or how the FBI might be able to prevent another attack in future elections.
When Sen. Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) asked Comey whether Trump had ever appeared concerned about Russian interference or how to stop it in the future, Comey’s answer was blunt: “No.”

After a moment of reflection, he added, without prompting, that he had “attended a fair number of meetings on that with President Obama.”

This contrast alone underscores Trump’s disregard for his fundamental duty, which is to ensure the security of the nation, its government and its citizens from foreign enemies.
Former CIA director John Brennan testified to Congress in May that he was shocked that Russia had “brazenly interfered” in the election, so much so that he took the extraordinary step of directly confronting his Russian counterpart.