Cnn-My Degree Isn't Worth The Debt

most viewed right now
Post Malone almost commits career suicide on stream
171 comments
@hiphop
most viewed right now
Article inside Salma Hayek claims Harvey Weinstein threatened 'I will kill you, don'..
124 comments
@movies
most viewed right now
NFL Robert Griffin III, sets the record straight.
51 comments
@sports
most viewed right now
Image(s) inside Rare Pics of B.G. Derrick (N.O. Rap)
74 comments
@hiphop

section   (0 bx goons and 1 bystanders) Share this on Twitter   Share this on Facebook

Props Slaps
 6 years ago '08        #1
6060 pageviews
43 comments

KAPITAL85 3 heat pts
space
space
$257 | Props total: 51 51
Cnn-My Degree Isn't Worth The Debt

My Degree Isn't Worth the Debt!
by Annalyn Censky
Monday, July 11, 2011
tweet238
Email
Print
provided by

Facing college costs that are rising far faster than incomes, many Americans are relying on massive amounts of debt.

We talked to people overloaded with student loans.

Courtesy: Erik Solecki
Erik Solecki

Student debt: $185,000
Degree: Bachelor's in industrial engineering from Kettering University

Was my college degree worth it? Hell no.

I graduated from one of the top engineering schools in the nation, thinking my starting salary would be between $70,000 and $80,000 a year.

More from CNNMoney.com:

Surging College Costs Price Out Middle Class

Calculator: What Will College Cost You?

Money 101: College
Such a specialized, technical degree is supposed to lead to a great career, so I was willing to take out the debt.

Instead, I was hit with nine months of unemployment after graduating. And now that I finally have a job, I'm making about $15,000 a year less than I had hoped.

Even if I were able to afford the $1,800 payments each month, it will probably take me 30 years to pay off my student loans.

I engineer high-end autos. Ironically, I'll probably never be able to afford one.

Courtesy: Saniquah Robinson
Saniquah Robinson

Student debt: $82,000