How To Make Smileys (For Beginners)

section   (0 bx goons and 1 bystanders) Share this on Twitter       Share this on Facebook

4 years ago '08        #1
26405 page views
138 comments

Chedda 451 heat pts451
space
space
$18,023 | Props total: 42631 42631
How To Make Smileys (For Beginners)

As a beginner I thought Photoshop was overwhelming. I started with Paint.Net

Its a free photo editing program, same as Photoshop but without all the fancy plugins.

You can get it here...

visit this link http://www.getpaint.net/download.html

Now lets begin with an easy one. Save this to your computer and work along with me...

Here is a picture of the Grinch. Lets start with taking out a background. When you open PAINT.NET open the file of the Grinch. First things first, its best to know how to zoom in and out. This will be of great help later on.

To zoom in or out can be done one of two ways. The easiest if to hold down CTRL and press the - for zoom out or hold down CRTL and press + to zoom in. Now that you know how to zoom in and zoom out lets take out the blue background of the photo.

In the far left side you will see a box of tools. The large red arrow is pointing to them. The smaller red arrow is pointing to a wand. Select that wand. With the wand selected, click on any area you want to erase. In this situation, the blue background.

If your tolerance up top is set to 50 it should look something like this. The wand tried its best to outline the area you wanted to delete.

Hit the DELETE button and it will delete everything that was highlighted.

It will now look like this...

This may look good but it isn't, I will get into why in a moment and how you how to fix it. But, before I go on I want to stop and quickly go over a little bit about TOLERANCE. I will pick up where we left off in a moment.

Real quick, when dealing with the wand Tolerance is important. Too much tolerance can make a photo look like this...