How To Make Gifs

section   (0 bx goons and 1 bystanders) Share this on Twitter       Share this on Facebook

4 years ago '08        #1
22253 page views
94 comments

Chedda 451 heat pts451
space
space
$18,023 | Props total: 42631 42631
How To Make Gifs

2016 UPDATE: Obviously, I have gotten much better at these. But I want to make it known I do not use this method any longer. Now-a-days I make gifs solely in photoshop. Here is a way better tutorial.

Original Post:
I get a lot of this question so, I decided to make this thread. It may be a little long.

Before I start, keep in mind I am still a rookie at this. In no way do I claim to be any good at editing pictures or making gifs. It is just that in my situation, I'm a pretty creative person plus the turnaround to making them is low.

A few things to know...
  • There are many different ways to making gifs
  • The source gif or video has to be short (you'll see what i am talking about)
  • This thread isn't about making gifs transparent

I used a lot of different programs but lately I have been using 3 programs to make my gifs. If you have the knowhow, you could do it solely in Sony Vegas.

Programs in this tutorial...
  • Sony Vegas
  • Paint.Net (Can be photoshop if that's your preference)
  • Camtasia

Again, keep in mind there are a lot of different ways to do this. This is ONE of my methods.

First thing I will do is find either a gif or video that I want to make an edit to.

In this case...

The gif or video has to be short for two reasons. 1.) Filesize 2.) You have to edit each and every frame of the video/gif

After I find something I want to edit I open the file in Sony Vegas. I then RENDER AS...

I render as a JPEG sequence into a specific folder (can be any folder)

What this does is make a single jpeg for every single frame. You will now have to edit every single frame by frame on your new gif. Again, YES! You have to edit each and every jpeg one by one.