2011 Sprite Slam Dunk - 8:30 p.m. ET (4th event)

topics gone triple plat - Number 1 spot 3X PLAT

section  x1   |  0 bx goons and 1 bystanders Share this on Twitter       Share this on Facebook

section sports
DeMar DeRozan 10 38.46%
Blake Griffin 10 38.46%
Serge Ibaka 1 3.85%
JaVale McGee 5 19.23%
Voters: 26.   (BX member poll)

 10 years ago '08        #1
29267 page views

flix02  topics gone triple plat - Number 1 spot x3
Props total: 5034 5 K  Slaps total: 315 315
2011 Sprite Slam Dunk - 8:30 p.m. ET (4th event)


What: 2011 Sprite Slam Dunk
When: Feb. 19, 2010, 8:30 p.m. ET (4th event)
Where: Staples Center, Los Angeles, CA
TV: All-Star Saturday Night coverage starts at 8 p.m. ET on TNT

There will be a new Sprite Slam Dunk champion crowned on Feb. 19 Staples Center (8 p.m. ET on TNT) in Los Angeles as four contestants vie for the title: the Los Angeles Clippers' Blake Griffin, the Oklahoma City Thunder's Serge Ibaka, the Washington Wizards' JaVale McGee and the Toronto Raptors' DeMar DeRozan.

As part of the NBA and Sprite's continuing efforts to bring fans closer to the Sprite Slam Dunk, each of the four participants will be featured in a special online video series that will give fans an inside look at their preparations for the event. The series, "Sprite Slam Dunk: Countdown to the Contest," will feature each participant matched up with a dunk coach who will work with his respective player to create and practice some of the electrifying dunks that will take place during the event in Los Angeles.

Griffin will match up with TNT analyst and two-time Slam Dunk participant (1990, 1991) Kenny Smith; DeRozan will practice with NBA Legend Darryl Dawkins; McGee will work with NBA TV/TNT analyst and five-time NBA All-Star Chris Webber; and Ibaka will prepare with Thunder teammate and 2009-10 NBA scoring champion Kevin Durant. Each episode also will feature a "dunk selection ceremony" where the participants will choose which dunks they want to keep and which they decide to send to "the bench."

Fans will be able to keep up with the latest development in the series by viewing the latest weekly episodes at NBA.com/Dunk.


DeMar DeRozan Toronto
Blake Griffin L.A. Clippers
Serge Ibaka Oklahoma City
JaVale McGee Washington

2010: High-flying Nate becomes first three-time Slam Dunk champ
Nate Robinson defended his title in Dallas to become the first-ever three-time Sprite Slam Dunk champion by defeating Raptors rookie DeMar DeRozan in the finals. Robinson sealed the win on his final dunk, scooping the ball off the backboard, spinning and putting it through with two hands, backwards.

2009: Krypto-Nate leaps over Superman to claim Dunk title
New York's Nate Robinson soared over defending champ Dwight Howard of Orlando -- literally and figuratively -- in winning a dramatic contest in Phoenix. Robinson donned a cape and the Knicks' St. Patrick's Day green uniform and vaulted over Howard in one of the most memorable dunks in the event's long history.

2008: Howard flies like Superman to win Dunk crown
Dwight Howard scored a perfect 100 in the first round, then broke out a Superman cape to beat defending champion Gerald Green in the final round to win his first Slam Dunk crown.

2007: Celtic's Green notches perfect 50 dunk
Boston's Gerald Green leapt past Nate Robinson, Dwight Howard and Chicago's Tyrus Thomas in the first round, then held off Robinson in the finals to win the event in Las Vegas.

2006: Robinson gets help from Spud to win Sprite Slam Dunk title
Knicks rookie Nate Robinson outlasted Philadelphia's Andre Iguodala in a dunk-off 47-46 to become the Sprite Slam Dunk champion. The 5-9 Robinson's only 50-point dunk was on a bounce pass from Spud Webb, the 1986 champion and the only other sub-6-foot winner in Slam Dunk history.

Sprite Slam Dunk Year-By-Year Winners
2010 -- Nate Robinson, New York
2009 -- Nate Robinson, New York
2008 -- Dwight Howard, Orlando
2007 -- Gerald Green, Boston
2006 -- Nate Robinson, New York
2005 -- Josh Smith, Atlanta
2004 -- Fred Jones, Indiana
2003 -- Jason Richardson, Golden State
2002 -- Jason Richardson, Golden State
2001 -- Desmond Mason, Seattle
2000 -- Vince Carter, Toronto
1997 -- Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers
1996 -- Brent Barry, L.A. Clippers
1995 -- Harold Miner, Miami
1994 -- Isaiah Rider, Minnesota
1993 -- Harold Miner, Miami
1992 -- Cedric Ceballos, Phoenix
1991 -- Dee Brown, Boston
1990 -- Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
1989 -- Kenny Walker, New York
1988 -- Michael Jordan, Chicago
1987 -- Michael Jordan, Chicago
1986 -- Spud Webb, Atlanta
1985 -- Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
1984 -- Larry Nance, Phoenix



Sign me up


most viewed right now
online now  23
Who is the greatest cornerback of all time skill wise
23 hours ago
most viewed right now
-32online now  20
Video inside Apr 15 - Latin Kings have Announced War against the Chicago PD
23 hours ago
most viewed right now
online now  13
Kyrie is Muslim?
2 days ago
most viewed right now
+81online now  11
Image(s) inside Apr 15 - Certificate Of Vaccine I.D '19 reactions thus far...
1 day ago
back to top
register register Follow BX @ Twitter search BX privacyprivacy