Foot Locker Three-Point Contest - 8:30 p.m. ET (3rd event)

topics gone triple plat - Number 1 spot 3X PLAT

section  x1   |  0 bx goons and 1 bystanders Share this on Twitter       Share this on Facebook

section sports
 10 years ago '08        #1
8514 page views

flix02  topics gone triple plat - Number 1 spot x3
Props total: 5034 5 K  Slaps total: 315 315
Foot Locker Three-Point Contest - 8:30 p.m. ET (3rd event)


What: Foot Locker Three-Point Contest
When: Feb. 19, 2011, 8:30 p.m. ET (3rd event)
Where: Staples Center, Los Angeles, CA
TV: All-Star Saturday Night coverage starts at 8 p.m. ET on TNT

Long-range supremacy is up for grabs in L.A. on Feb. 19 when the NBA's best shooters take aim in the Foot Locker Three-Point Contest on All-Star Saturday Night. Six shooters will participate in one of All-Star Weekend's most hotly anticipated contests.

The players will compete in the two-round competition with the top three finishers from the first round advancing to the finals. Five shooting stations will be set up around the three-point line, with four Official Spalding NBA game balls worth one point each and one Spalding NBA All-Star 2011 commemorative red, white and blue "money ball" worth two points at each location. Each player will have one minute to shoot as many balls as he can. In the final round, players will shoot in ascending order of first-round scores. At the discretion of the referee, television instant replay may be consulted for clarification of rules compliance. (Official release)

Last year, Paul Pierce put on a dazzling display of three-point shooting with 20 points in the final round to take home the title.

2011 Foot Locker Three-Point Contest Field

Ray Allen Boston
Kevin Durant Okla. City
Daniel Gibson Cleveland
James Jones Miami
Paul Pierce Boston
Dorell Wright Golden State


2010: Pierce redeems himself to claim Foot Locker Three-Point title
Getting redemption the only place possible for the moment, Paul Pierce of the Celtics atoned for a bad showing his last time in the competition by winning the Foot Locker Three-Point Contest during the 2010 All-Star Weekend in Dallas. After posting 17 points in the first round, Pierce out-dueled Stephen Curry of the Warriors and Chauncey Billups of the Nuggest in the final round.

2009: Heat's cook ends Kapono's reign
Miami's Daequan Cook ended Jason Kapono's two-year reign as the NBA's best exhibition sharpshooter, besting Orlando's Rashard Lewis in overtime in Phoenix.

2008: Kapono repeats with dominating Three-Point performance
Jason Kapono kept his Contest title and dominated the 2008 field. Kapono notched 25 points in the final round in New Orleans, tying the all-time record set in 1986 by Mark Price. He set a new mark for most points in a final round of the Shootout, flipping in 20-of-25 shot attempts (including 10 in a row from the third ball of the first rack to the second ball of the third rack) for a total of 25 points.

2007: Kapono ties final-round record
Jason Kapono tied Mark Price's final-round record with 24 points and outlasted Gilbert Arenas on his way to the 2007 Contest title in Las Vegas. Arenas notched a first-round high of 23 points and had 17 in the finals.

2006: Dirk outlasts Arenas and Allen for Three-Point title
Dirk Nowitzki defeated Arenas and Ray Allen to take home the victory in the Contest as part of All-Star Weekend in Houston. Nowitzki finished the 2006 competition with 18 points in the final round, while Arenas tallied 16 and Allen collected 15.

Foot Locker Three-Point Contest Year-By-Year Winners
2010 -- Paul Pierce, Boston
2009 -- Daequan Cook, Miami
2008 -- Jason Kapono, Toronto
2007 -- Jason Kapono, Miami Heat
2006 -- Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
2005 -- Quentin Richardson, Phoenix
2004 -- Voshon Lenard, Denver
2003 -- Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
2002 -- Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
2001 -- Ray Allen, Milwaukee
2000 -- Jeff Hornacek, Utah
1998 -- Jeff Hornacek, Utah
1997 -- Steve Kerr, Chicago
1996 -- Tim Legler, Washington
1995 -- Glen Rice, Miami
1994 -- Mark Price, Cleveland
1993 -- Mark Price, Cleveland
1992 -- Craig Hodges, Chicago
1991 -- Craig Hodges, Chicago
1990 -- Craig Hodges, Chicago
1989 -- Dale Ellis, Seattle
1988 -- Larry Bird, Boston
1987 -- Larry Bird, Boston
1986 -- Larry Bird, Boston

Last edited by flix02; 02-19-2011 at 03:02 PM..


Sign me up


most viewed right now
+130online now  20
Article inside $500 to $5000 with Crypto. Follow Along
1 day ago
most viewed right now
+51online now  18
Crazy ways you find out you was being cheated ?
2 days ago
most viewed right now
+272online now  17
Video inside Why Double homicide is trending online
1 day ago
most viewed right now
+32online now  9
This n*gga Zion quietly been sh-ttin on Ja in their sophomore seasons
1 day ago
back to top
register register Follow BX @ Twitter search BX privacyprivacy